Sunday, 25 December 2016

Meah

 
 
I have to be honest and admit it was the title of this book that grabbed my attention. It must be my hidden teenager hiding inside reaching out. Also any book with a "Extreme Horror" warning on it screams read me.

Sick Bastards was OK but I honestly did not find it that disturbing. Yes there are some sections of the book that makes you cringe but overall its rather Vanilla in the context of "shock horror". I found that Matt Shaw has a very easy style of writing that drives the story along at a nice clip. The actual story is entertaining with a very nice twist at the end.

There was enough in this book for me to line up another one of Shaw's books to give a go. If I did not go into this book with the promise of extreme horror I may have gave it an extra star.
3 Stars

Sunday, 18 December 2016

Moon Over Soho


 
This second instalment of the Peter Grant series continues on with the excellent tone set by it's predecessor. Moon Over Soho is a great example of Urban Fantasy writing at its finest.

We are plunged back into the world of PC Peter Grant and the folly as he continues to learn about the hidden world of magic and river gods that inhabit London and it's surrounds. The story continues with out missing a beat as we are introduced to some new creatures of the night with a hint Jazz as always in the background.

All males be warned though there are part of this book that will make you will wince and have some fairly awful nightmares for at least a month. Ben Aaronovitch is onto a killer of a series that I believe has some serious legs. Book three is on the near horizon for me.
 
4 Stars

Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Life on the Road

 
 
Not the most stellar book title going on but something about this book grabbed my attention. Truck driving is not my normal subject of choice. But as my reviews have shown you are often rewarded when you move out of your comfort zone.

So was this book worth the gamble? In my humble opinion hell yeah I had a blast reading this book and I already have some more truck tales lined up. Spirit of the road tells the story of a middle aged rookie as he starts his new career as a interstate truck driver. It takes us through all the ups and downs of the industry as seen from the drivers seat.    

3.5 Stars
 
 

Saturday, 26 November 2016

Decent Thriller


If you are looking for an easy to read but highly enjoyable action/thriller then this is a fine candidate. Category Five is the first in the Donovan Nash series and is a fine start to the series.

Mix together a bit of a killer hurricane, some damn fine flying, a bit of betrayal and someone hiding a big secret and you have a cracker of a read. The author does a fine job in putting all these pieces together and along the way develops some very interesting characters. Oh and did I mention nuclear weapons....
3 Stars

Monday, 14 November 2016

What the.....



My dear ole  Ma told me if you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all!!!!!!






0.5 Stars

Friday, 11 November 2016

Hunter



Hunter by Robert Bidinotto is hailed as a "Kindle no.1 Best Seller" and sadly I am not sure why. This book is pedestrian at best and never really builds up any suspense.

While the narrative shows a lot of promise and twists expected from this genre it never delivers on this promise. The outcome of this book is never really in question and one can see it coming a mile away. I also found the characters very two dimensional and written to formula.

I did however enjoy the discussions around criminal rehabilitation vs. victim rights. I thought the author put a very good argument forward and his views was built into the story well. While this book was at times an enjoyable read it never really got out of third gear in my opinion.


3 Stars

Friday, 28 October 2016

Kick It Up a Gear

 
 
 
Extinction Aftermath delivers the seemingly impossible by kicking the 6th instalment of the Extinction Cycle into a another gear. Somehow Nicholas Sansbury Smith has managed to cram more action, thrills and gore into an already jam packed narrative.

This book is a fantastic addition to the Extinction Cylce serious. Just when you think the plight of the human race can't get any worse along comes it's biggest threat yet. There is some very interesting character developments that change up the story to the readers advantage. When you add this to some truly frightening new variants entertainment is bound to follow.

Nicholas Sansbury Smith is cementing his spot as one of the best break out authors of the year. He has delivered yet another sublime book. When you combine this with the other first class reads he has produced in a short time and you can see what all the fuss is about.
5 Very Big Stars

Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Watershed


Watershed takes us into a Australian landscape were it no longer rains. It is a savage and wild post apocalyptic world in which Mad Max would feel at home. As an Australian I was over excited by the prospect of this book, so much so I may have done a small dance of joy when I found it.

Jane Abbot does a masterful job a entwining two narratives together to deliver a cohesive storyline. The World she has created has many layers which come together to create a dark new world in which the age old practice of supressing the masses is in full swing. Of course some people are trying to push back and one of the instruments used to stop this is our focus of the story.

Yet again a debut author has come out swinging and delivered a story worthy of one of the masters. Watershed delivers a great read that had me staying up way past my bedtime. I highly recommend this to one and all.    

4.5 Stars



Saturday, 8 October 2016

The Long Run



 

In the Long Run the author tells the tale of his life as a chronic alcoholic and how running helped him swap one addiction for another. It is fair to say I think running is the better choice of the two.

Mishka does not hold back in when describing his life on alcohol and the self-destructive path he was on. How he managed to live through this destructive stage of his life is beyond me. His transformation into a ultra-marathon runner some might suggest is equally destructive.

A great story of redemption that is very humble in its telling. This is another great example of what can be achieved in the short story format.
 
3.5 Stars

Saturday, 1 October 2016

Dark Matter



Yet another book that failed to deliver up to to the hype in this humble reviewers opinion. The read was average at best and at times.....sorry I lost interest there for a while.

The premise of the the story in an intriguing one that was never fully developed in my opinion. There was a lot more room to fully delve into the shady world of the Darknet and I found the path the story took as predictable. There was time when the book pulled me in and when it did the ride was full on. Unfortunately the bits in between where pedestrian at best.

Darknet was not the greatest reading experience in the world but neither was it the worst. Nothing wrong with being average and I will give another one of Matthew Mather's book a read before making my mind up about this author.
  


2.5 Stars

Saturday, 10 September 2016

I'm Awake


Hello my familiar friend how I have missed you. Yes the good ole Zombie Apocalypse Survivor Journal is back and it is better then ever. There is nothing wrong at all with a well executed and familiar story style.

J.D Demers gives us a glimpse of what could be the end of our protagonists story before taking us back to where it all began. There is nothing new or ground breaking in the telling of this tale and that familiarity makes it easy to sink your teeth in. The action is well paced and keeps the narrative ticking along at cracking pace.

The Hunt Chronicles is a promising start to the series. This is one I will definitely continue to read and I eagerly look forward to book two.
4 Stars

Saturday, 27 August 2016

Livingstone I Presume



Into Africa tells the story of Dr Livingstone and the search for him which leads to Stanley's immortal line "Dr Livingstone I Presume". The story also is a look at what the world was like in the Golden Age of Exploration and the fame that was placed on those exploring.

Like many my knowledge of Stanley & Livingstone was very basic, one got lost and the other found him somewhere in Africa. While this is the very basic premise of the tale as always the real story is in the details. While the story was fascinating I found the writing a bit stilted in places and this caused my interest to wain at times. Overall an interesting read and I am very pleased that I now know more about this iconic piece of history.

3 Stars




Thursday, 18 August 2016

Stasiland

Anna Funder has delivered a fascinating read that is well researched and gives readers a feeling of what it was to live behind the Berlin Wall. Stasiland in a great blend of oral and researched history that at times took my breath away.

I know that it is impossible to truly understand what it was like living in the oppressive regime that was East Germany. The ultimate Big Brother state where paranoia is the normal way of life. I was blown away by some of the stories normal Germans shared with the author. Equally as interesting was the stories from those that worked in the system and those that informed on others. From a love story to the man who painted the line where the wall was going to go this is a top notch read.
4 Stars

Thursday, 4 August 2016

The Fireman


The Fireman is the second bite of the cherry for me when it comes to Joe Hill. It is fair to say my first bite was a tad on the sour side with his offering of NOS4A2 this book I am happy to say is a lot sweeter.

Fireman is solid addition to the Post Apocalypse genre with a virus being the downfall of humanity. Sounds like a familiar plot? Well yes it is but what stands out with this one is the nature of the virus, which to me added a little bit of fantasy to the tale. It brings a new meaning to "burning up".

Joe Hill has crafted a story that draws you into the narrative. What I like in particular was that the story never loses momentum during this lengthy tale. This in itself is an impressive feat and when you add that with some truly memorable character you have a first class read.

3.5 Stars

Thursday, 28 July 2016

The Incurables



Take a once famous psychiatrist, serial killer, ice pick and a touch a lobotomy and you have the making of a wickedly good story. Oh also add a small town full of "odd" people with a wide variety of mental health issues just for a bit of extra fun. Also maybe just a tad of messiah complex as well.

Jon Bassoff impressed me with the dark tale he has placed on the pages of the Incurables. A great cast of dysfunctional characters all with some major issues make this book a wonderfully wicked and disturbing. I found myself flying through this book and loving every minute of it.
4 Stars

Sunday, 24 July 2016

My First 6 Star Review




This book for me is a solid 6 stars as Nicholas Sansbury Smith delivers yet again. Hell Divers unbelievably takes it another notch above his excellent Extinction Cycle series.

"Today we dive so humanity survives" sums up the premise of this book so well. The author has crafted yet another engrossing apocalyptic world in which we are plunged. It all starts with what is in my opinion the best opening chapter EVER. It slaps around the face and ensures you are paying attention and also let you know you are in for one hell of a ride.

If Hell Diver is anything to go by then this trilogy is destined to become a classic and this young author had definitely taken his place amongst the best. The second book will see if I am right and I willing to bet a Kidney it is.

6 Stars


Monday, 18 July 2016

Wickedly Good Dark Thriller


Take a once famous psychiatrist, serial killer, ice pick and a touch a lobotomy and you have the making of a wickedly good story. Oh also add a small town full of "odd" people with a wide variety of mental health issues just for a bit of extra fun. Also maybe just a tad of messiah complex as well.

Jon Bassoff impressed me with the dark tale he has placed on the pages of the Incurables. A great cast of characters all with some major issues make this book a wonderfully wicked and disturbing. I found myself flying through this book and loving every minute of it. 

4.5 Stars


Thursday, 14 July 2016

I'm Not Buying It!



How this book stayed off my Radar for so long is a complete mystery to me. This book has me in two minds. Parts of it I really enjoyed and others I felt like I was preached at.

The bits I liked tell of the US and friends manipulating and controlling other countries so easily under the guise of economic assistance. I had a small inkling of this but was astounded by the depth of their apparent schemes. As a reader you have to take a lot of what the author is saying on face as there are no other “insider” publications around to compare with.

What I did not like was authors apparent turn around and preaching about not be blind to what is going on and this soured the book for me. It was like he was trying to justify what he was apparently involved in by warning us all to be aware. Sorry I'm not buying it.
2.5 Stars

Thursday, 7 July 2016

This Read Is SO SO SO NOT Politically Correct

This book is so wrong on so many levels that it adds up to an awesome read. But be warned this book is not for the squeamish or even slightly squeamish. Tim 3 carries on the story of one of the most bizarre and sick symbiotic relationships ever.

Tim 3 continues to expand on this great series and evolves the twisted tale even further. The virus relationship goes to a whole new level with a nice feminine touch. Those not familiar with the Tim serious it gives a very different view on the Zombie Genre.

Mark Tufo takes the gloves off and lets his inner psycho loose on the pages of this book. There is nothing politically correct about what's on these pages, but that's what it is so good about it. So sit back and enjoy the ride and prepare to be grossed out, shocked and mostly importantly laugh yourself unconsciousness.   
4.5 Stars 

Tuesday, 28 June 2016

A Very Disappointing Read



I thought long and hard before giving this book only two stars. For me the cons far outweighed the pros and made for a frustrating read.

With a title like Blind Descent one would expect the lions share of the book being about the summiting and descent of Everest. This is not the case whilst I did enjoy hearing about his travel to reach Everest it took up way to much of the book for me.

My main issues with this book was the repetitive nature of some of it...yes I got he where a Navy SEAL rescue swimmer but boy did he bang on about it. Also I truly get that he loved his family and missed them but there was not a chapter that went by where it was not mentioned at least twice. The main issue I had with the read was the overt religious nature of this book it was very overpowering and to the determent to the narrative.

Having read numerous books on Mountaineering this book fell well short for me. The author’s arrogance shines through in this book and I would recommend giving it a wide berth.    
2 Stars

Wednesday, 22 June 2016

A Twisted Ride


 
The Damaged is a top notch Thriller/Horror that delivers a gruesome and disturbed story. Like the storm that opens the narrative this story builds up to a violent crescendo that unloads with great ferocity.

 
 Simon Law has that rare talent in delivering a story that actually made me wince several times. This book is truly a twisted and depraved offering that lulls you into a false sense of security. Even though this story is a late bloomer I feel the first slower part of the book is vitally important in drawing you into this book. This is one author I will watch with interest and look forward into delving into more  of his tales.

 
As an audiobook production I found the narrator very un-emotive in his reading. His voice whilst pleasant was very flat and it was thanks to the strength of the story that these issues where overcome. A weaker narrative would have suffered from the reading.
 
4 Headphones

Monday, 13 June 2016

Great Game...Not So The Book



As a devotee of the Football Manager game franchise I opened this book with much excitement. I mean the documentary on Football Manager was top rate so a book on it will be so much better, wont it?

No is the short answer. I could end the review there but what fun is that. The book had some very interesting tales from real life Managers and this I enjoyed immensely. But overall I ended up feeling like the book was more a very fancy instruction book rather than a guide. I feel I never really gained much from this book.

2.5 Stars




Thursday, 9 June 2016

Bullet Riddled



Bullet Riddled gives the reader an inside view into a world very few get to glance. This world is that of being a member of an elite S.W.A.T team. The author takes us along with him through some of his most dangerous jobs.
As the title suggest the author was the first S.W.A.T inside Columbine and whilst this was a very formative event the author does not let this overshadow the rest of the book. I found this book a very interesting read and it gives a great sense of the type of mindset and mental fortitude that is needed to be a member of S.W.A.T.
 
Being that this is the audio version of the book I have to say that the production value was top notch and the narrator was a great choice for the reading.

The only downside of the story which stopped it being 4 stars was the repetitive nature of some of the phrases and information used throughout the book. This might just be a personal quibble but I feel that a heavier hand with the editing would have increased the readability of the book.
Saying that though the heart of the book is what shines through and I thank the author for his at times brutal honesty. It is this honesty that makes this read a truly memorable one for me.
 
3.5 Headphones

Friday, 3 June 2016

Hell's Super is a Superb Read

 
 
Hells Super is a refreshingly fresh tale from the circles of hell. The author has have had real devilishly fun is writing this book and this is evident on what he delivers on the pages.

The fun starts right off the bat with our hero of the story with the aptly named Steve Minion the Superintendent of Hell. What a job having to keep up with the maintenance of all nine levels of Hell, a real pain in the butt job. From here the story develops into a race to find out the reason behind some recent sabotage and the identity of some revolutionary antagonist.

With a great cast of characters from history including a very interesting love interest Hell's Super is one Hell of a read. This is one series I will definitely be exploring.
 
4 Stars

Saturday, 28 May 2016

The Year of the Zombie Begins

Infected Books is celebrating 15 years in the business with a great Novella series called Year of the Zombie. Each month one of their authors will be delivering a short story and to start the ball rolling here is the first two.



A great short read that kicks of a series of Novellas from some great Zombiesque authors from Infected Books. One book a month to celebrate the "Year of the Zombie." It kicks off with Adam Baker of the Output series.

While only a short read it is certainly hits hard. The story takes place in Mogadishu and combines a CIA hit and a mysterious Zombie outbreak. The two story arcs are on a collision course from the outset and provide for a tense and exciting narrative.

A great start from a very promising serious. The Year of the Zombie is looking good and I for one am going along for the ride.

4 Stars





Book two of The Year of the Zombie bring Rich Hawkins to the fore. He delivers a stellar performance packed into a small space.

He paints a picture a survival and despair in a book I can best describe as grey. It is a story of a Grandfather doing the best he can for his only remaining kin. He is doing this while all the time dealing with a chronic alcoholic problem. Be warned the end of this book will not be for everyone's taste.

Infected Books is on to a killer concept and I look forward to reading more offerings. It is fair to say after being in the business for 15 years they now what the reader wants
.
 

4.5 Stars