Monday, 29 December 2014

Celebrating With A Sci-Fi Classic

The Lazy Book reviewer has reached another milestone with 50,000 page views. As always I would like to thank you the reader for helping us to achieve this milestone. If  you have any feedback on how to improve this blog please send it through. You can find the contact details further down on this page.

So to end another fantastic year in reading I have decided to review a Science Fiction Classic

We are all familiar with famous opening scene from Kubrick's film adaptation of this book. The swelling music and the mysterious black object surrounded by apes. These are both iconic music and images, but how many of us have actually read the book. I will admit that it has taken me 40 years to open the pages on Arthur C Clarke's masterpiece. But now I have I ask myself why did it take so long.

It becomes very evident from the first chapter that this book is going to deliver so much more than the movie. It should have come as no surprise really, but I was amazed at the subtle nuances in the telling of the tale.  The book delivers  a more satisfying and fulfilling experience, even if I could not get that damn music at of my head.

What really impressed me was the technical advances that are predicted in Arthur C Clarke's work. It is easy for one to over look them as many of them, in slightly different formats, are a part of our normal life. One really has to try and remember that this book was first published in 1968 to truly appreciate the author's genius. Now that I have began this saga I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

Friday, 19 December 2014

The Lazy Award for Best Author Goes To (insert drum roll).......





I am fast running out of superlatives to describe just how good Nicholas Sansbury Smith is. After being blown away by the first two books of his Orb series this year, this tireless author has crafted yet another exquisite read.

After showing us his mastery of the Science Fiction genre he has now turned his hand to a modern day tale of a truly apocalyptic nature. This books combines some my favorite elements of virology, genetic manipulation, horror, action, suspense and zombie like mayhem. One of the major ingredients in this story is that most insipid of virus Ebola, and this for me is what made the read all the more frightening. The author has also once again shown his ability to develop characters in a way that draws you into the story and makes you feel like you have a vested interest in it.

I look forward to seeing where the author takes us in this series. Nicholas Sansbury Smith has well and truly arrived and I predict his star is on the fast track to the top.

Finally it gives me great pleasure to announce that in recognition of this authors excellent offering this year he has won the prestigious Lazy award this year for best author. More awards to follow soon.

5 Stars

Thursday, 11 December 2014

Autopsy of a City


 
 
As an Australian reader I came into this book wanting to find out how a city can go bankrupt. What I got was the downside of globalisation and the lack of vision to diversify industry to future proof and protect the people of Detroit. This book had me hooked from the first chapter. The author uses a great mix of personal narrative and the story of Detroit to deliver a hard hitting book.

 The personal side of this book is what make it a fascinating read. There is no question in my mind that Charlie LeDuff loses sleep at night over the plight of the people of Detroit. This is made very evident in the stories he shares with the readers. From the fireman who have to steal to have an operational station to the story of the man in the elevator shaft. This book deliver in so many areas and makes for an unforgettable tale of the death of a city.
 
4 Stars

Tuesday, 2 December 2014

Back In Action

The Lazy Book Reviewer is on the mend which means the reviews can now continue. Below is the first of my Bali reads. I managed to get two books reads in on holidays whilst cooling off in the pool. A waterproof case for my Kindle was on of my better purchases of late.


Cannibal Reign delivers an entertaining read that in my opinion was ruined by the end. The start of the book is a 5 star read with great time and care given in developing both the plot and characters. The reader is immersed into a world that has been devastated by an extinction rated event. Humanity is sent back to the dark ages where survival by any means is the norm.
 
The end of the book however left me feeling very disappointed and cheated. There was so much potential in the endgame of this story but I felt the attention to detail was replaced by the authors desire to wrap it up in one book. The potential of this story to evolve into a great series was extinguished just like life as we know it was in the book.

3 Stars

Tuesday, 25 November 2014

An unplanned trip to Hospital.

Hi all the Lazy Book reviewer will be out of action a bit longer. After a great holiday I am having an unplanned stay in Hospital due to a very stubborn ear infection. Never fear we will be back to normal reviewing service soon.

Wednesday, 12 November 2014

Holiday Time



The good wife and I are taking a well deserved tropical holiday. So the Lazy Book Reviewer will be out of contact for around a week. Never fear though I will return with a bag full of new book reviews. So all take care and I shall see you on flipside.




Tuesday, 11 November 2014

Blackwater Saga Part 3

Here is the last installment of the Blackwater Saga reveiw by Pamellia Smith. I have these books sitting on my shelf now ready to read.


 

Do we now know the real reason Elinor sacrificed her easy life in the Perdido river to come ashore and win the heart of Oscar?
 
In this book, so many things are changing for the family, yet so many things remain the same. As certain members get older they succumb to various illnesses and broken hearts.
 
I particularly love McDowell's writing in this part of the saga. I think I enjoy reading about great wealth and how it came about. I love how he develops the city of Perdido right along with the Caskeys. I felt from the beginning McDowell was taking a writing success chance when he moved part of the family out in the country...but with expertise writing skills, he made it work.
 


 
 
McDowell comes full circle with the rain. It's sad to think that everything might be destroyed if the rain doesn't stop. Elinor has been accidentally wounded and it seems like the heavens are crying harder than anyone ever remembers
.
The ending: I would love to discuss with someone what Billy saw when he got into the boat and looked back into the house. What a thought provoking ending.
Another thing I would like to mention about this saga. I think Mr. McDowell liked this story. I think he felt for the men that were dominated by the women. I think he enjoyed writing about the old south. He was a story teller, perhaps the best story teller of our time. He was lost to us by his death much too early. Recommended to anyone wanted to read a good story
 
5 stars for both

Friday, 7 November 2014

Hugh Howey the Short Version

This review see's the return of the short story and one of the most exciting authors to burst out of the Indie scene Hugh Howey. I have been very impressed by Hugh Howey and how despite his recent stellar success still has time to lend a hand to aspiring authors.
 
 

Can Hugh Howey do no wrong?  What he has managed to deliver in a mere 5,000 words is brilliant. He has turned this book into a Tardis by packing so much content into the pages. I was left feeling exhausted ater reading this book, and like any good workout man did it feel good.
 
By being in danger of having a review longer than the book I shall keep this review short. If you have a spare 30 minutes  invest it in this story and be thorouhgly entertained.
 
 
 
I read this book back to back with the authors other short story Glitch. I found myself once again  astounded at the content packed into this short read.
 
The books plot and character develpment is very impressive. Howey manages to imerse us into an alien culture and mindset in no time. This allows for a very full narative that tells a intriguing storyline that had me chuckling away at times.
 
 
Combined together I give these books 5 stars.

Thursday, 6 November 2014

Lets Go Back To The Beginning

I have decided to go right back to when I first started this blog to re post a book that still has me revisiting it in my imagination. This book is another great example of Indie writing but also shows how competitive the market is. In my opinion it is one of the best books I have read but alas does not seem to have sold well. So why not give it a read, at under $2 it is a insane bargain.



This is a difficult review to write as I don't want to pepper it with clichés and superlatives. But this book is epic in every sense of the word .

Aimery Thomas takes into a post-apocalyptic world were a dystopian society lives on lies and manipulation of a trusted few. All appears good on the surface but just beneath there is a more sinister and darker side. A cast of well-developed characters takes on a wild ride building up to a thrilling ending.

Yes the story does seem familiar in places and yes it is a long read. But the complexity of the story and the world the author build upon the pages had me enthralled all the way to the end. I wait expectantly for the next installment of this epic saga. If you read only one book this year make it this one.

5 Stars, LBR Tick of Approval

Thursday, 30 October 2014

Scalzi Double (Lazy Book Reviewer Jr. Returns)

This review hails the return of the Lazy Book Reviewer Jr. Recently I have given Jr (aged 12) access to my John Scalzi collection, and he has been busily reading ever since. I am glad to see he has my impeccable taste in books and Scalzi is now one of his favorite authors. 





John Scalzi has delivered yet again another highly entertaining Sci-Fi read. The narrative as always moves along at a thrilling pace with characters that leap of the page and give you a cheeky slap just to make sure you are paying attention.

Locked In delivers a plot that is both fresh, intriguing. As always the author weaves together a tale that keeps you engaged and your grey matter working right to the last page.

I don't want to give away any of this story, as a part of the joy of reading Scalzi is discovering the world he has created. So if you have yet to experience John Scalzi get of your collectives rear ends and get reading people.

4.5 Stars


The Lazy Book Reviewer Jr.



Hope your hyper drive's in working order for this awesome hilarious sci-fi adventure. Our main character Andrew and his friends Mya, Finn, Hester and Jimmy are transferred to the starship Intrepid and realize something is seriously wrong with the ship. Like personnel dodging commanding officers so they don't get on away missions to planets because people always die on away mission with certain officers. 


After our main characters are put on an away mission themselves and nearly die they seek out Jenkins, a hermit who hides in the cargo tunnels of the ship working on his independent research project. Jenkins tells them that their world is being warped by a Star trek like TV program, and things get pretty interesting from there. Over all it is an awesome read for teens and adults alike and it is one of my personal favorites.

5 Stars